Day 15: Starr Hill Box Carr Pumpkin Porter

Let me take a minute to get on my soap box tonight.

I feel passionately about supporting small businesses.  I spent my first 2.5 years out of college managing a woman’s boutique in Harrisonburg and Charlottesville.  I saw the highs and lows of competing for business against large corporations.  Small businesses are run by the most passionate owners that care about delivering not only a quality product but also a memorable experience to very customer that walks through the door.  Although my days of retail management are behind me (and I’m now working for the Man… :/), I still make every effort to shop locally.  For every $100 spent locally, $68 goes back into the community through taxes, payroll, and other spending, as opposed to $43 of every $100 spent at a large chain.

So how does that apply to tonight’s beer?…  Craft beer is big craze popping up all over the country and I’ve been fortunate enough to be surrounded by many local breweries in the Shenandoah Valley.  For Chris’ Quarter Life Crisis birthday, I surprised him with a trip to Crozet, Virginia for a tasting at Starr Hill Brewery.  I became smitten with Monticello Reserve Ale, which mirrors the brewing techniques from Thomas Jefferson’s beer drinking days.  (Is there anything cooler?!)

starr hillHappy 25th, boo!

Since I’m hanging out in the Crozet/Charlottesville area tonight for a Ben Rector concert at The Jefferson, I thought it was only appropriate to crack open my Starr Hill pumpkin beer.  While you’re reading this, check out this YouTube video: Ben Rector — I Wanna Dance With Somebody.  (Who doesn’t love a good cover of Whitney done by a signer/songwriter?)

starr hill          starr hill          starr hill pumpkin porter

Starr Hill Brewery Box Carr Pumpkin Porter
Produced in Crozet. Virginia.  ABV: 4.7%.  Described on the website as: “Box Carr is an ode to the simpler days of folk music, when all a musician needed was a guitar and the railway.  Traveling the world and sharing the gift of song is much like sharing the Gift of Great Beer.”

My opinion?  Again, this beer is a little out of my comfort zone since it’s a porter.  There are heavy notes of coffee but has a watery finish.  I’m trying to pretend I’m sipping on an iced pumpkin coffee to get the full feel.  (Can someone pass the creamer, please?)  It’s definitely drinkable as far as I’m concerned but not as pumpkin-y as I’d hope. :/

I’ll always try Starr Hill (and all other local breweries!) in my efforts to support local and I urge you to find local breweries to your area.  You’ll be surprised by the expertise and variety they have available!

PS — If you’re reading this, Happy Birthday Big Brother!  Can’t wait to see you at Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment